Changing a listing's category
- Jul 15
- 1 min read
Categories cannot be changed once a listing is live — if you've listed in the wrong category, you'll need to withdraw and re-create it. What happens next depends on the category and how much time has passed.
Different categories will automatically refund the listing fees:
Category | Withdrawal Timeframe |
| Within 4 hours of withdrawal |
| Within 12 hours of withdrawal |
| Within 1 hour of withdrawal |
If you withdraw a listing within the timeframe above, fees will be automatically refunded and you can create a new listing int he correct category.
If you're unsure, or you're outside the 12-hour window, when you withdraw the listing and create a new one in the correct category, then email our Customer Support team with the old and new ten-digit Trade Me Listing ID.
Or, contact propertyagents@trademe.co.nz for advice before withdrawing anything.
We'll assess and provide options — including making sure you aren't charged for multiple listings.
What you'll lose
Withdrawing and re-creating a listing is not the same as a relist — search views, listing views, watchlisters, and enquiries from the original listing cannot be transferred to the new one.